Why We Should All Travel More

world-travelI’ve been very fortunate to have been able to travel so many places in 2014. While I normally aim for one international trip and one domestic trip, this year I’ve had more opportunities to explore my own great nation (that and buying a house can be a bit of a damper on your finances).

I recently just got back from my trip to Indianapolis – an up and coming urban oasis. I loved the quaint and historic buildings and streets while enjoying modern amenities. I also loved how walkable the entire down town hub is. It reminded me of a smaller scale Boston.

I was in town for a conference…my first major conference. Usually, I tend to attend mid to small conferences with specific industry focuses that align with both my job and my interests (it’s nice when those two things come together like that).

However, this recent conference had over 8,000 attendees and included four full days of training and break out sessions, a concert with will.i.am, and probably the most fantastic keynote ever…Mindy Kaling. #girlcrush

The morning keynotes were like a light-show meets Ted talk. A circular stage with the audience on every side was surrounded by giant screens that highlighted case studies, speakers, and overall successes. Each of the speakers wore a mic and the presentations were memorized, informative, and energetic. I’ve never experienced anything quite like it. (Did you know that Indy is the #1 Convention City in America? Me either. But according to an airport billboard it’s true…)

What’s weird to think about is that I wouldn’t have explore all Indy has to offer if I hadn’t traveled there for work. Talk about a missed opportunity.

I love that traveling opens us up to new experiences, new places, and new people. It provides an opportunity to step outside of our comfort zone and, in some cases, allows us to be somebody else – even if for a short while. It allows all us to be an adventurer and an explorer.

And that’s really why we should all travel more. We should all open ourselves up to new experiences and new friends. We should embrace the unknown and seeing a place for the first time or through new eyes. It’s inspiring and invigorating and I think creates the chance to be creative and to think in ways we would have never imagined.

So, go out and travel. If it’s for work, play, or something in between. It’s well worth the expense because the most interesting people make it point to go adventures -whether it’s simply stepping outside your front door or hopping on a plane with a destination across the ocean. It’s your time to explore.

2014 Destinations Traveled This Year:

1. Wilmington, NC

2. Charleston, SC

3. Asheville, NC

4. Boston, MA

5. Indianapolis, IN

6. San Francisco, CA

7. New York City

One thought on “Why We Should All Travel More

Leave a Reply

