NaNoWriMo – Blogger Style

nanowrimo

Good morning, everyone! As many of you may know (or have heard), it’s National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo (I don’t know how to pronounce that). During the month of November, writers around the world commit to drafting and completing a novel. Many have certain word counts or goals during the month, but the beauty is that it’s up to each individual to carve out what success looks like.

I’ve thought about joining the NaNoWriMo crew a couple of times. In fact, I have five chapters of a romance novel sitting on this blog unpublished. I also have a few other stories floating around in my head that I’d like to put pen to paper. But not yet. I’m not quite ready just yet.

Instead, this year I’ll participate in my own way. Although I am suppose to write a novel instead, I’m going to write several blog posts that will never be a novel (my drivel makes no sense half the time) but will get me in the habit of writing and hopefully start to hone my skills. I remember a graduate professor told me once to never stop writing. He said I had a voice that he would recognize anywhere and that it was one of the most important and valuable skills anyone could have – no matter the profession. Naturally, I promptly stopped writing. Fear of my greatness? Hardly. But perhaps partly fear (of failure), partly laziness, partly not feeling what I had to say matters.

Silly, really.

So, here I am, brushing off the dusty words and phrases that have been in my head for such a long time, but put to very little use. I imagine cracking opening a vault in my head and being surrounded by witty comments, alliterative sentences, and gorgeous descriptions. I used to love a good metaphor or simile. Let’s get back to that.

I know, I know, it’s November 6th already. What am I thinking? Already behind the eight-ball as they say. But that’s okay. If I can crank out a 3 blog posts a week, I’ll feel like I did a pretty bang up job for my first NaNoWriMo or would it be NaBlogWritMo? Is there already one of those?

So strap in kids, it’ll be a fun ride. There is no agenda or topics that I’ll blog about per se…I tell myself the rambling and drivel is charming and a little endearing in small doses.

Here we go!

Leave a Reply

